45 views 33 secs 0 Comment

BJP leader and former legislator Selvaganabathy to be party’s first MP from Puducherry

Puducherry, Sept 22(BPNS)

BJP leader and former legislator,S. Selvaganabathy will become the first Member of Parliament of the saffron party from the Union Territory of Puducherry.  The BJP leader filed his nomination papers on Wednesday, an hour before the concluding time of filing of nomination papers.

He will be elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha.

S. Selvaganabathy filed his nomination papers to the Legislative Assembly Secretary, R. Mounissamy. Chief Minister, N. Rangasamy, and Home Minister, A. Namassivayam who proposed his candidature were present with the candidate.

The scrutiny of the nomination papers will take place on September 23 and the last date for withdrawal of nomination is September 27. After the withdrawal period is over, he will be declared elected on September 27.

The tenure of the present Member of Parliament, N. Gokulakrishnan of AIADMK comes to a close on October 6.

The opposition has not put a candidate against the BJP leader. BJP and its allies have 19 MLA’s (AINRC -10, BJP-6, and independents -3)

The principal opposition DMK and Congress have 8 members with the DMK having 6 legislators and Congress 2. Three independent legislators are also in the house.