43 views 42 secs 0 Comment

M.B. Rajesh resigns as Speaker, to become minister

- September 3, 2022

Thiruvananthapuram, Sept 3 (BPNS)

The Kerala legislative assembly Speaker and senior leader of the CPI-M, M.B.Rajesh on Saturday resigned from his post. He will be joining the Pinarayi Vijayan cabinet. The probable swearing of Rajesh will be held on Tuesday, according to government sources.

CPI-M state committee member and Member of Legislative Assembly from Thalassery in Kannur district of Kerala, AN. Shamseer will be the new assembly Speaker.

The changes were affected after the newly anointed CPI-M state secretary, M.V. Govindan resigned from the post of Urban Affairs and Excise minister in Kerala. M.V. Govindan, CPI-M ideologue, and MLA from Taliparambu assembly constituency in Kannur district assumed office as state secretary after the incumbent secretary, Kodiyeri Balakrishnan was admitted to a private hospital in Chennai following his Cancer treatment. It was Kodiyeri who insisted that he would resign from party post and not take a leave from the party for his treatment.

Rajesh is a two-term loksabha MP and a first-term MLA and has been an office bearer of the SFI and the DYFI for long years. Shamseer is a second-term MLA from the Thalassery assembly constituency and is a firebrand leader who headed both SFI and DYFI in the state.