15 views 55 secs 0 Comment

N Rangasamy takes oath as Chief minister of Puducherry

Puducherry, May 7(BPNS)

Founder leader of All India NR Congress (AINRC) and former Chief minister N Rangasamy on Friday was sworn in as the Chief minister of the Union Territory of Puducherry on Friday. He is becoming  Chief minister for the fourth time. Twice as Congress leader and twice as the AINR Congress leader.

Lieutenant Governor (additional charge) of Puducherry, Tamilasai Soundararajan administered the oath of office and secrecy to him. He took the oath in Tamil and in the name of  God. He alone took the oath of office on Friday and assumed the post of Chief minister.

Rangasamy was the leader of the NDA in Puducherry and his party AINRC won 10 of the 16 seats it contested while the BJP contested 6 of the nine seats it contested. A record 6 independent candidates got elected in this election.

It was in 2001 that Rangasamy became the Chief minister for the first time as a Congress leader and in 2006 he again won on a Congress ticket and went on to become the Chief minister ,but differences of opinion with his cabinet colleagues in 2008 led to his resignation from the government and the party.

Ranagasamy floated All India NR Congress two months before the 2011 elections and aligned with the AIADMK and won the elections. However he formed the government with the support of independent candidates keeping his ally AIADMK out of power.