24 views 39 secs 0 Comment

Tamil Nadu government to work for Official language status to all Eight scheduled languages, MK Stalin

- June 6, 2021

Chennai, June 6(BPNS)

Tamil Nadu Chief minister MK Stalin has said that the DMK government would work to get official language status to all the Eighth Scheduled languages.

He said that the DMK government would work tirelessly and relentlessly to include all classical languages listed in the Eighth Schedule of the constitution, the official language of the Union government.

Other than Tamil, Sanskrit, Telugu, Kannada, and Malayalam are among the languages that are declared as classical in India.

Stalin in a statement on Sunday said that it was on this day in 2014 that the Central government declared Tamil as a classical language under the Eighth Schedule of the Constitution. He said that this was made possible after the relentless efforts of his father, Late Tamil Nadu Chief Minister, M Karunanidhi.

According to Article 343 of the constitution,  the official language of the Union government is Hindi in Devanagiri script. Article 345 of the constitution states that a state legislature may by law adopt any one or more language for all or any of the official purposes of that state.

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister said that his government would continue to work for raising the level of Tamil language more.