23 views 41 secs 0 Comment

Puducherry cabinet with first woman minister sworn in

- June 27, 2021

Puducherry, June 27(BPNS)

Lt Governor Tamilisai Sounderarajan inducted the oath of office and secrecy to five ministers in the Puducherry cabinet on Sunday at the Raj Niwas.

The five are A Namassivayam and Sai J Saravana Kumar from the BJP, K Lakshminarayanan, C Djeacoumar and Chandira Priyanga from the AINRC.

Chandira Priyanaga is the first woman minister to be sworn in  the four-decade history of the Union Territory of Puducherry.

All the ministers took the oath of office in the name of God. This is the first time the BJP is part of a ministry in the Union Territory of Puducherry.

It may be noted that the Puducherry cabinet expansion has taken place 52 days after the Chief Minister N Rangasami assumed office on May 7. The impasse was due to the sharing of seats and the influx of ministerial hopefuls.

It is learned that the BJP would go for a rotational ministerial berth system to the party legislators. Party MLA, A John Kumar’s supporters had laid siege to the BJP state committee office and had destroyed chairs and tables demanding ministerial berth to their leader who had switched position to the BJP from the Congress party just before the assembly elections of 2021.