3 views 2 mins 0 Comment

Ram Chandra Dome from Bengal to become the first Dalit Politburo member: CPM sources

- April 10, 2022

Thiruvananthapuram, April 10 (BPNS)

Seven-time Member of Parliament and the CPM Central Committee member from West Bengal, Ram Chandra Dome will be the first Dalit representative in the Politburo, which is the highest decision-making body of the CPM.  Sources in the CPM told IANS that party  Central committee meeting which is being held at the Nayanar academy hall at Kannur as part of the party’s 23rd party Congress has taken a decision on this. The CPM has drawn flak as the party had never included a Dalit leader in its Politburo since the party was formed after splitting away from the CPI in 1964.

All India Kisan Sabha leader  Ashok Dawale from Maharashtra and former acting secretary of Kerala CPM and convenor of the ruling Left Democratic Front (LDF), A. Vijayaraghavan will be the other representatives of the Politburo. They will replace senior leaders S. Ramachandra Pillai and Hannan Mollah in the highest decision-making body of the party, the party sources explained.

Kerala ministers, P. Rajeev and K.N. Balagopal will be in included in the party central committee members, the second-highest decision-making body of the CPM. Two women leaders of the party, P. Sathidevi and C.S. Sujatha, both former MPs, will also be included in the Central Committee of the party.

The possibility of either former minister, J. Mercykutty Amma, and former MP, T.N. Seema is also under consideration.

The party sources said that senior leaders of the party from Kerala, P. Karunakaran, Vaikom Viswan will be removed from the central committee as they have crossed the age of Seventy five. This is applicable to Politburo member, S. Ramachandran Pillai who will also be excluded from the party Politburo also.

The possibility of farmers’ movement leader and former MLA from Kerala, P. Krishnaprasad, and former Member of Parliament, P. Biju to be included in the central committee is being discussed in the party central committee meeting which is being held at Kannur.