4 views 2 mins 0 Comment

Third term for Sitaram Yechury as CPM general secretary

- April 10, 2022

Thiruvananthapuram, April 10 (BPNS)

CPM general secretary, Sitaram Yechury will continue in the post for a third term. This was announced at the CPM 23rd party Congress venue on Sunday. He was re-elected as general secretary along with a  17 member politburo and an 85 member central committee during the 23rd party Congress.

Sitaram Yechury was elected as the party general secretary during the 21st party Congress at Vishakapattanam in April 2015. He was re-elected general secretary at the 22nd party Congress at Hyderabad on 18th April 2018.

He succeeded Prakash Karat as the general secretary of the party who held the post from 2005 to 2015.

LDF convenor and Kerala CPM former acting secretary, A. Vijayaraghavan is the new politburo member from Kerala. All India Kisan Sabha president Ashok Dawale and Dalit leader Ram Chandra Dome are also the two new entrants to the party’s highest decision-making body, Politburo.

Kerala ministers K.N. Balagopal and P. Rajeev, woman leaders, C.S.Sujatha and P. Sathidevi are the new entrants to the party central committee from Kerala after senior leaders Vaikom Viswan, P. Karunakaran, and M.C. Josephine were dropped from the committee.

Ram Chandra Dome from West Bengal has become the first Dalit leader to be in the Politburo, the highest decision-making body of the CPM. The party had drawn flak for not including a Dalit in its Politburo since its inception in 1964.

The dropped Politburo members, S.Ramachandra Pillai, Hannan Mollah, and Biman Bose are retained as special invitees to the party Central Committee.