13 views 2 mins 0 Comment

Puducherry:Former CM Narayanasamy accepts responsibility for Congress defeat

Chennai, May 3(IANS)

Senior Congress leader and former Chief minister of Puducherry, V Narayanasamy has taken up the moral responsibility for the defeat of the party in Puducherry assembly elections. While he was leading the Congress party, he preferred not to contest the polls.

The NDA has secured a majority in the elections to the Puducherry Union Territory with the AINRC bagging 10 seats and the BJP 6 seats in the 30 member assembly. DMK won 6 seats while the Congress could satisfy with 2 seats. 6 Independent candidates have also won the elections.

Narayanaswamy while speaking to BPNS said, “I owe the responsibility for the drubbing in the April 6 assembly elections and bow my head before the verdict given by the people of Puducherry”

The outgoing Chief minister had drawn flak for his poor performance and the unpopularity of Narayanswamy as Chief minister was highlighted during the elections. Moreover Congress could only win two seats in the elections and faced its worst drubbing in the history of Puducherry assembly elections.

Ramesh Parambath of the Congress who scraped through from Mahe near Thalassery assembly constituency in Kerala, won by a margin of 300 votes against the CPM candidate Haridasan Master. The other Congressman to win was M Vaithianathan who joined the Congress after he was denied a ticket from the AINRC. He  defeated BJP ,Puducherry state president V Saminathan by a margin of 5701 votes.

The anti incumbency factor against the Narayanswamy government came out against the Congress in the elections. Several Congress leaders had quit the party and joined the AINRC and the BJP. Congress turncoats AKDV Aroumougham and KSP Ramesh won from Indira Nagar and Kadirgamam won by the largest of margins in the  elections to the UT. While Aroumougham defeated his nearest rival  M Kannan of Indian National Congress by 18531 votes, Ramesh beat Congress leader P Selvanadane of Congress by a margin of 12,246 votes. These two were the highest margins won by the NDA candidates and both these leaders were from Congress party.