14 views 34 secs 0 Comment

M Appavu sworn in as Speaker of Tamil Nadu assembly

- May 12, 2021

Chennai, May 12(IANS)

DMK leader and four term Member of Legislative Assembly from Radhapuram constituency in Tirunelveli district ,M Appavu was sworn in as the Speaker of the  16th Tamil Nadu assembly. K Pitchandi , former minister and MLA from Kilpennathur constituency  assumed office as the Deputy Speaker of the house.

Both the Speaker and Deputy Speaker were elected unopposed.

Chief Minister MK Stalin proposed the name of M Appavu for the Speaker post which was seconded by Works minister Duraimurugan at the Chamber of the assembly secretary, K Srinivasan.

Appavu was taken to the Chair by the Chief minister MK Stalin and Leader of Opposition and former Chief minister  Edappadi K Palaniswami.

Later in the day the new Speaker visited the memorial of former Chief minister and DMK leader Kalaignar Karunanidhi and paid floral respects at the memorial.

The new assembly Speaker while speaking to BPNS said, “This is a great honour to be the Speaker of the Tamil Nadu assembly and I will discharge my duties as the head of the house without any prejudice or favour and to the best of my capabilities.”