12 views 2 mins 0 Comment

Sylendra Babu appointed DGP of Tamil Nadu

- June 29, 2021

Chennai, June 29 (IANS)

A 1987 batch IPS officer of the Tamil Nadu cadre C. Sylendra Babu has been appointed as the new Director General of Police of the state.The Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) had on Monday shortlisted the names of C.Sylendra Babu, Karan Singha (1987 batch) and Sanjeev Arora (1988 batch).
Chief Minister MK Stalin announced the name of C Sylendra Babu, after a meeting of higher officials including Chief Secretary Irai Anbu, incumbent DGP JK Tripathi and Home Secretary SK Prabhakar

The Union Public Service Commission(UPSC) has, in consultation with senior officials of the Tamil Nadu government  at New Delhi on Monday,finalized a list of three senior-most IPS officers of the state from which the Chief Minister will announce the name of the new state DGP( Law and Order). The incumbent Tamil Nadu, DGP, J.K. Tripathi will be retiring from service on June 30.

The Tamil Nadu delegation led by Chief Secretary, V. Irai Anbu and comprising of state home secretary, S.K.Prabhakar and incumbent DGP, J.K. Tripathi. The three officers are stay put in New Delhi and have already communicated the shortlisted names to the Chief Minister, M.K.Stalin for final approval.

The state had suggested a list of five officers which include C Sylendra Babu, Karan Singha, Sanjay Arora, Sunil Kumar Singh, and Mohammed Akthar.However the UPSC had directed the state government to provide a revised list and a new list was passed on and from this the UPSC after discussing with the senior officials from Tamil Nadu have finalized the list of three officers.