12 views 37 secs 0 Comment

Stalin elected unopposed as DMK Chief in TN for the second time

- October 9, 2022

Chennai, Oct 9(BPNS)

The 15th general council meeting of the ruling Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) elected Tamil Nadu Chief Minister, M.K. Stalin as the President of the party unopposed. This is the second time that Stalin is elected as the President of the DMK.

Veteran leader and state minister for water works, S. Duraimuguan was elected unopposed as the General Secretary of the party. Former Union minister and Member of Parliament, T.R. Baalu who is considered the face of the DMK in New Delhi was also re-elected as the treasurer of the party without any opposition.

K.N. Nehru was elected as the Chief Secretary of the party.

Stalin appointed his younger sister Kanimozhi Karunanidhi to the post of Deputy General secretary of the party. The other deputy general secretaries are I. Periyasamy, A. Raaja, K. Ponmudi and Anthiyur Selvaraj.

The venue of the  general council meeting of the party was decorated with portraits of Dravidian ideologue, E.V. Ramsami Naikar or Periyar, C.N. Annadurai ( DMK ideologue and former Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu and Kalaignar Karunanidhi, father of  Stalin and Kanimozi and former Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.