views 45 secs 0 Comment

Madras HC judge(Rtd) , C.T. Selvam to head 4th police commission

- January 19, 2022

Chennai, Jan 19(IANS)

Retired Judge of Madras High Court, Justice C.T. Selvam will head the fourth police commission constituted by the Government of Tamil Nadu, a statement from the Chief Ministers office on Wednesday said.

Retired Senior IAS officer, K. Alauddin, K. Radhakrishnan IPS (Rtd), Dr. C. Ramasubramaniam, and Professor( Rtd) Nalini Rao are the other members of the commission. ADGP of Tamil Nadu Police, Mahesh Kumar Aggarwal will be the member secretary of the commission.

The commission, according to the statement will examine in detail all the measures towards the welfare of police personnel and various other aspects related to policing. The five-member body will submit its recommendations within a time frame.

It will recommend measures to improve policing, to make the Tamil Nadu police a better police force, improve on Cyber policing, policing with a humanitarian approach, and to recommend police to have a better relationship with the general public.

The DMK had, in its election manifesto promised the constitution of the fourth police commission, and with the constitution of the commission with Justice (Rtd) C.T. Selvam to head it, the Chief Minister Stalin and the DMK party had kept the promise they have made to the people of Tamil Nadu in the election manifesto.