107 views 2 mins 0 Comment

181 booths in TN critical, webcasting in 44000 of 68321 booths in state :Chief Electoral Officer

- April 18, 2024

Chennai, April 18( BPNS)

The Chief Electoral Officer of Tamil Nadu Satyabrata Sahoo said that 181 of the 68321 booths in Tamil Nadu are critical and that proper security measures has been taken up in these booths. He said that 8050 booths have been identified as vulnerable.

Webcasting of polling has been arranged at over 44,000 booths, which is about 65 percent of the total number of stations.
In a press statement he said that the polling for the 39 Lok Sabha seats and the Vilavancode by-election in Tamil Nadu will commemce from 7 am on Friday and will end by 6pm. He said that those who are in the queue will be issued token as of 6pm and will be alowed to vote.

He said that 3.32 lakh polling personnel have been deployed across the state. The Chief Electoral Officer said that 190 companies of central armed police force personnel are posted across the State for proper conduct of the polls.

The CEO said that about 1.3 lakh police personnel, including State police, armed police and home guards sourced from Andhra Pradesh, Kerala and Telangana have also been deployed in addition to this.

There are 6.23 crore voters in Tamil Nadu of which 3.17 crore are women and 3.06 crore are men. The Chief Electoral Officer in the statement said that there are 8467 transpersons.

He also said that of the total voters ,10.92 lakh voters are in the age group of 18-19 years of age.

Of the 950 candidates in the fray in the 39 Lok Sabha constituencies in Tamil Nadu, 874 are men and 76 women.
A total of 39 general observers, 20 police observers and 58 expenditure observers and a special expenditure observer have been deployed in Tamil Nadu by the Election Commission of India.

The Chief Electoral Officer saud that priority would be given for senior citizens, differently-abled persons and pregnant women so that they need not wait for a long time in the queues, as per the guidelines issued by the Election Commission.